Cloth Diapering


 

I need advise on cloth diapering. I’ve been looking into it but holy ess there is TOO much information!

Thoughts, experiences and preferences?

Also, Mark’s job offer has been taken off the table when he attempted to re-negotiate the contract. With what they were offering, we wouldn’t have made our bills each month so it’s back to looking!

~ by Kendall on October 16, 2009.

4 Responses to “Cloth Diapering”

  1. two words: Diaper Service

    if there was a descent one in my neck of the woods i would totally go that route. (or at least try…possibly use both!)

    -you’d be helping the environment
    -children generally potty train earlier when they’re raised on cloth b/c they can feel the wet more and don’t like it.
    -it’s a lot cheaper obvs.

    at the Montessori school where I worked in Houston, the kids in the infant class all wore nothing but tshirts and cotton training underwear from 14 months on and all potty trained very quickly!

    but it’s a big commitment, not always convenient and lots of daycares (depending on where your baby goes) refuse to use them.

    it all boils down to $$ and personal convenience!

  2. I used cloth diapers with my son. And I mean the old fashion cloth diapers. I used diaper pins and everything. I had to order the plastic covers for them. And I got the diapers in the auto section of target. They are diaper/cleaning clothes. They are way cheaper in the auto section than anywhere I could find and they are better quality. Isn’t that funny. We used disposable diapers when we traveled or had a sitter. I also stopped using them when he was about 6 months old. I got menegitis and didn’t have the energy to take an extra 30 seconds with his diapers and do the extra load of laundry every other day. But I think everyone should try it out. It saves A TON of money. All of my cloth diaper supplies paid for themselves in 3 weeks. Wooo Hooo! And now I have them for any children we may have later on.

  3. I came visiting from Mel’s blog. I felt I should leave a reply to your questions because I have had 6 children. I put cloth diapers on all of them. Don’t make it harder than it has to be. Get a decent sized garbage can with a lid. If you plan to breastfeed then diapers will be oh so easy! Just toss in diaper can. I did a load every day sometimes every other day if really busy. I would throw in washer, do a pre rinse, then wash in hot then wash in cold. I used regular detergent and a vinegar ball rinse in the hot wash load. Then dry in dryer and that is it. If I actually hung them on the line then I had to still throw them in the dryer for 10 to 15 minutes because they would be rough and that bothered my babies. We live down south so our water is really hard. That might have added to the roughness. I never put bleach in them (ruins the cloth and can bother baby) and I never put fabric softer as that makes them not as absorbent. I did use diaper pins at first but then find a product called Snappi. They are only a couple dollars but they hold the diaper on so well. No pricked fingers, not pricked baby and a good hold for diaper. I also tried every diaper cover under the sun. I hated Velcro diaper covers. My children always jumped when you have to pull the Velcro apart. They would cry and it is impossible to change them when they were asleep. I used a certain brand….I think they were Bummy or Bummi brand. They worked pretty good for us. I tried Gerber at WalMart or Target but they always leaked and got ruined quickly in dryer. For me, cloth diapers were not a big deal. If you wash often then they don’t smell and you save a lot of money on Pampers. I also found that cloth made me change baby when they were wet which helps cut down on rashes and such. I can’t recommend cloth enough. I must say though, by time my 6th child was born I told my husband I was going to switch to Huggies when our baby turned 1 year old. We did switch but I think if we would have stayed with cloth the baby would be potty trained by now.

    Hope this helps. Feel free to email me if you want to chat more. It is nice when mothers can help one another out.

  4. gdiapers.com

Leave a Reply

 
