Pre-diet eating habits


 

As I was sitting at my desk today eating my 3rd meal of the day I started thinking back to how I was eating before I decided to change things. I am absolutely disgusted with myself. No wonder I gain 40+ lbs in less than year. Holy shit, why did nobody stop me?

 

Let us take a look at then versus now. *insert fairytale page turning music*

 

Breakfast:

Then: First thing in the morning, a diet coke to start off my day. On my way to work I would often times stop at the gas station and pick up 2 containers of sugary cereal, Apple Jacks or Fruit Loops most of the time with 2% milk. At least once a week it would be 2 sausage and cheese kolaches and a dozen donut holes from Shipleys.

 

2 cups of Apple Jacks: 116 calories

1 1/2 cup 2% milk: 195 calories

2 sausage & cheese kolaches: 480 calories

Dozen donut holes: 624 calories

Breakfast: Between 311 & 1,104

Let’s move on to lunch.

Then: More times than not, it would be Sonic since it is conveniently located 3 minutes from my office.

Grill chicken sandwich on wheat bun w/ lettuce, tomato, and mayo: 375 calories

Large tater tot w/cheese and slathered in ketchup: 659 calories + however many calories are in 5 packets of ketchup

Lunch total: 1,034 calories

Dinner (then): Always a meat (steak, porkchops, chiken, pork tenderloin, etc) a pot of steamed white rice and a vegetable.

Wiki says for a 10 oz. steak about 630 calories slathered with A1 sauce.

1 1/2 cups prepared white rice: about 480 calories with butter and soy sauce

2 cups prepared steamed broccoli: about 60 calories with butter

Dinner total: 1,170 calories

If I were eating *just* those things alone in a given day I would be consuming about 3,300 calories A DAY. Now, that would just be eating those things, don’t forget!

 

Often times when I would get home from work I’d snack on about 3 or 4 cups of Cool Ranch Doritos and throughout the day at work I’d eat a few snack sized Kit Kats. After dinner I’d eat half a pint of Starbucks coffee Ice Cream. On the weekends I’d drink 10 – 15 beers A NIGHT!! No wonder I blimped up so quickly I was consuming almost double my recommended calorie intake.

 

Let’s take a look at what I’m eating now.

 

Breakfast: 4 Brown N’ Serve Turkey Sausage links 100 calories for 2 so 200 calories total or 1 scrambled egg with spinach 76 calories for the egg and I don’t count the spinach because often times it’s only about 2 leaves.

Snack 1: Today I had 2 tangerines 172 calories but these are counted on my list as a negative calorie food.

Lunch: String cheese 80 calories and 2 chicken tenders (unbreaded) I’m going to go with 300 because I don’t have the exact count and can’t find it.

Snack 2: Dry unsalted almonds and sunflower seeds: 70 calories for about 10 almonds 1/4 cup of sunflower seeds 190 calories

Dinner: Porkchop with sauteed onions, zuchinni and mushrooms: 300 tops

 

So give or take in a day, I’m eating about 1500 calories which is MUCH more reasonable than what I was previously eating.

 

Looking back now at the list, I cannot believe I ate so much. I am sick to death now of having to eat every 2 -3 hours but, shit. Before, I was eating less times a day but 3 and 4 times the portions.

 

Whew, I was on the short train to a heart attack and I’m glad I’ve seen the light.

 

A quick update: this morning I weighed in at 239.5 which is almost exactly 10 pounds lighter in a little over a week of dieting with minimal exercise.

 

I promise a funnier and much more entertaining post tommorrow!

~ by Kendall on August 27, 2009.

One Response to “Pre-diet eating habits”

  1. www dot thedailyplate dot com is a great resource for finding the caloric value of just about anything.

Leave a Reply

 
