Uhm, why didn’t I know this before?


First, I want to say thank you to all of my readers who are supporting me in this journey. Also let me address some concerns and comments.

Yes, readers, I do know that diet and exercise are the key to a healthy lifestyle. I am aware of this. Yes it is common sense but, 95% of the time I lack common sense. Thank you and, good day.

I am one of those people who must see drastic results and encouragement to keep going, hence the weight loss medication. No, I do not believe that there is a magic cure, if there were somebody would be v. v. rich and I would be v. v. skinny.

Let me recap my “doctor” visit yesterday. I plugged in the address into my trusty iPhone  and followed the nifty blue dot all the way down the yellow brick road, said yellow brick road led me to Kingwood Health & Wellness.

Kingwood Health and Wellness is housed in what must be an old home in the Kingwood area, it takes up the entire top floor and is wood floors and couches and cozy goodness all around. The staffers were on lunch when I arrived so I parked my butt on the stairs with 10 other people (!!!) and waited for the Golden Gates to open.

I got in pretty quickly once they got my paperwork sorted out and my legal vs. married name (must remeber to go to social security office, bah!) The male nurse took my vital signs, weight, previous medical history etc. My blood pressure was high which scared me because I have never ever in the history of ever had high blood pressure.

After all vital signs were taken I met with a nutritionist on an oversized comfy ass couch (much better than sitting in a sterile office.)

Seriously people, why the fuck did I not know this before? Why did I not know that putting your body into starvation mode makes you GAIN weight? I know that makes me stupid but, I really and truly honestly did not know it. I didn’t learn it in school, I was too busy being taught how not to get pregnant by a 500 pound health teacher who needed a hip replacement.

It makes sense to me now. Kingwood Health & Wellness has given me the tools I (nobody else, I speak for myself) need to be successful.

Here is the plan, less than 20 grams of carbs per day, eat every 2 -3 hours to re-train my metabolism, 20 -30 minutes of cardio 3 times a week (I plan on increasing this 10-fold) and Phentermine once a day. Mr. Morgan (the non peeatchdee dude) says I will not want to eat but I must force myself. P.S. I got a B12 + Lipo B shot to the ass and it frickin’ hurt. I’m a pansy.

Today at lunch I am going to visit the produce section at our friendly Kroger store wherein I will spend a large portion of hard earned dough on vegetables and fruit. I have enough chicken breasts to feed a small African nation. Tonight when I get home, I will dice and chop and julienne until I can no longer stand. George Foreman is coming out of retirement for a marathon chicken grillin’ session. Don’t fail me now George.

Mark has decided that he is also going to go on the diet with me with his own weight loss suppresant that aided him in losing a decent amount of weight when we first started dating. He has promised me he will buy me an elliptical when I’ve lost 20 lbs.

So, that’s the recap. I’m going to need all of the help and encouragement I can get so I’m hoping you all will be here for me.

I’ll be back tomorrow!

~ by Kendall on August 19, 2009.

4 Responses to “Uhm, why didn’t I know this before?”

  1. Keep writing, you’re good at it!

    (I still haven’t changed my SS card name…. oops!)

    Good luck- I’m rooting for ya! I love these little Healthy Choice “fresh mixers”- on the “boxed food” aisle at Walmart. Just add water and microwave- 340 calories. Also the Healthy Steamers (I think that’s what it’s called) in the freezer section are good, too!

  2. I have taken phentermine in the past, be prepared for HORRIBLE headaches the first day or so. Everytime I stopped and started it i got terrible headaches. Surprisingly, it didn’t make me jittery, but it def gives you energy, its a nice buzz, IMO…but,it makes you SUPER thirsty. I would often just take a half of a pill, and that was enough since I sit at a desk all day.

    Oh, and take it in the morning, early! it kept me up at night at first as well

    Lets see, what else…oh, watch the booze intake if you’re not already..seems like that messed with me a time or two as well.

    My take on meds is that, in my experience, taking something in the beginning to jumpstart your success is great. By all means, don’t stay on the stuff long term, but if it kills your cravings and you see some quick results, go for it. Just wean your self off the meds and keep it up on your own afterwards. 🙂

    Good luck!

  3. Hey Kendall,

    Its Andrea Little…don’t ask me how I found your blog b/c I don’t remember! Probably on facebook a long time ago. I just got started back into mine again so I was browsing…

    Good luck with this. Lord knows I need to do something myself! Keep updated about your progress, it might be something I’d like to look into. I’ve always had attitude about diet pills, but I agree that whatever way it comes off is better than keeping it around. Just do what works for you and listen to your body!

  4. Good luck! I hope it goes well!

Leave a Reply

 
